Hello, As an editor I would like to create a metri...
# gooddata-platform
h
Hello, As an editor I would like to create a metric based on an amount for on a date that is THIS Year To Date, so that the metric can be compared properly on the dashboard page. See screencap. Can this be achieved through current functionality?
m
Hi Hans, if you would like to create a metric that displays year-to-date, compared to the same time period the year before, it would look something like this: For this year to date:
SELECT <Your-Metric> WHERE Year (Date) = THIS AND Date (Date) <= This
For the last years quarter to the same date:
SELECT <Your-Metric> WHERE Year (Date) = THIS-1 AND Date (Date) <= This -365
More details on the “THIS” macro used in the metrics above can be found here: https://help.gooddata.com/doc/growth/en/dashboards-and-insights/maql-analytical-query[…]e-where-clause/referencing-floating-time-periods/this-macro/ In the part where I have added “`<Your-Metric>`” you will simply insert your metric there where you’re calculating the totals.
👍 1
m
alternatively, if you do not want to rely on deducting exactly 365 days and need to somehow handle leap yers etc. you could utilize the
Day of Year (Date)
date attribute which is assigns to each day in any year value between D1 and D366. It is available for any date dimension and also works with THIS macro:
SELECT <Your-Metric> WHERE Year (Date) = THIS AND Day if Year (Date) <= This
and
SELECT <Your-Metric> WHERE Year (Date) = THIS-1 AND Day if Year (Date) <= This
h
Thanks for this clarification. Will this logic work with the comparison that is generated by the KPIs? Imagine I would put the first line of code in a metric, and choose this metric in a KPI.
m
Hi Hans, please let me test this and verify my findings. I will get back to you once I have more details on how this works with the KPI’s 🔍
h
Thanks Michael. Pls don't lose sleep over this ;-)
👍 1
m