Hi! I hope it’s ok to ask a MAQL question here. I ...
# gd-beginners
a
Hi! I hope it’s ok to ask a MAQL question here. I am still learning to write the queries and I’m stuck with something. I am attaching a snippet of my LDM covering the relevant part for what I am working on. The JIRA dataset is collapsed because it has so many facts and attributes, which would add tons of irrelevant details. It is relevant to know that JIRA dataset holds information about employees: • Username - attribute which is an identifier for each employee • Company they work for (reference to Companies dataset) • Day of employment (reference to Worked Date) • Availability - A fact that the person was employed on a day (represented as value of 1) Working Days dataset holds a workday/holiday pattern for each company dictated by local employment regulations (1 if the day is workday, 0 if it’s not). What I am trying to do is to build a metric which eventually can be aggregated by company or even the whole group of companies, showing the number of full time employees (FTE) in a selected time period. My plan is to achieve that by finding: 1. Number of workdays for each employee in a chosen time period (SUM of Workdays in JIRA dataset for that person in the selected time period) 2. Number of workdays in the company of that person in a chosen time period (SUM of Workdays in Working Days dataset for the company that is associated with the person in the JIRA dataset) And then dividing the first number by the second. For a person that was employed throughout the chosen time period, the result is 1 because the amount of workdays for the individual person matches the number of workdays for their company. However, if the person only worked part of the period, then their FTE number is less than 1. I am struggling with handling the calculation for persons who have joined in the middle of the period. Check the second screenshot, representing one person per line. 14 and 15 of August on the screenshot represe