Has anyone tried to load the <GoodData.CN> k8s ins...
# gooddata-cn
v
Has anyone tried to load the GoodData.CN k8s installation using Docker Desktop Kubernetes? I know that the instructions say it requires at least 3 nodes... and Docker Desktop I think is limited to a single node installation? Should I just use the community edition for local development?
r
Hi Vincil, it's possible to run on single node (for test purposes, of course), but there are some tweaks that need to be done in chart values, both for pulsar and for gooddata-cn
I don't recall what exactly needs to be set, but basically you need to disable antiAffinity
v
whoah nice!
I am new to k8s but learning
r
some components insist on running on a different node. But it is possible to convince it to run on a same node where other pod of the same type is already running
v
ok, and that would be overridable in the helm chart config
somehow
r
you may also want to set
replicaCount: 1
so save resources on your host.
👍 1
v
if you come across any hints, let me know here... I will continue to investigate
r
yes, everything you need can be set by extra custom values.yaml.
v
trying to make the dev environment as much like prod as possible... and Docker Desktop is the tool of choice for the moment...
appreciate the help...I will look
r
I'd rather recommend k3d
v
ok... I will look
r
k3d allows you running multi-node k8s cluster within docker containers so you don't need to tweak antiaffinity at all - bc you'll actually have 3 k8s worker nodes 😉
v
it looks like it's geared towards development and that's awesome
I was struggling with minikube... exposing services, etc pulling images in... didn't feel comfortable for an app dev workflow
r
Check out my repo: https://github.com/mouchar/gooddata-cn-tools/tree/master/k3d It's somehow outdated (I don't have much time to maintain it) but you should get a basic insight how it works and what needs to be done
v
whoah nice!!!
being new to k8s anything helps
r