Solved

Publishing Data Model

  • 2 October 2020
  • 1 reply
  • 31 views

What happens if I choose Preserve data when publishing the data model?

icon

Best answer by Pavel 2 October 2020, 18:39

Long story short - this is very likely the option you always want to select.

The modeler is basically asking you whether you are ok with deleting your data from affected data sets in your workspace or not when applying your model change.

By choosing the “preserve data” option you are telling that you prefer the modeler not to delete anything. If you are making a non-destructive change such as adding a new attribute, fact, or a data set, or renaming an attribute, it makes sense to choose “preserve data” unless you have a good reason to do otherwise.

Some destructive options or changes don’t support the “preserve data” option.

View original

1 reply

Userlevel 1

Long story short - this is very likely the option you always want to select.

The modeler is basically asking you whether you are ok with deleting your data from affected data sets in your workspace or not when applying your model change.

By choosing the “preserve data” option you are telling that you prefer the modeler not to delete anything. If you are making a non-destructive change such as adding a new attribute, fact, or a data set, or renaming an attribute, it makes sense to choose “preserve data” unless you have a good reason to do otherwise.

Some destructive options or changes don’t support the “preserve data” option.

Reply